A Tomato Sandwich – The Perfect Comfort Food

tomato sandwichIt is my ultimate comfort food.

There have been a few times in my life when I was so stressed that my diet consisted entirely of tomato sandwiches. When you can rely on one food to sustain you for weeks at a time, you know you’ve found your ultimate comfort food. I love them and I never get tired of them.

I just received the last tomatoes of the year from my Step-Father. They’re small because the weather began to turn, but they’re the last, and they’re mine.

I was so busy today that I forgot about them right up until the time everyone was in bed. I had just finished working on a project, sent an email to my boss and realized that the only sound I heard was the fan my son keeps in his room to help him sleep. Peace…

Then, I remembered the Last Tomatoes!

I tip toed in my worn gray-white socks to the kitchen and began to prepare the tiny feast for my soul. Opening bread bags can awaken sleeping children and the operation had to be done silently.

Once the bread was prepared I selected a tomato from the bag. It was firm and fragrant. I cut into it. The scent of summer came rushing up to me and memories of the weeks of anguish which were highlighted only by the quieting peace of tomato sandwiches flickered across my mind. Juice ran between my fingers as I placed the tomato on the bread.

Curling up into my favorite chair, I ate my sandwich and listened to my son’s fan. I rarely get moments of peace like this, and when they comes I revel in the solitude and quiet.

I put away my plate and knife then realized that there was also a tiny bit of cinnamon applesauce left in the refrigerator. And I ate that too. Because right now, I don’t need to eat tomato sandwiches to survive. Right now, it is just the last of them, and tomato sandwiches are my favorite.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Your writing prompt for today is to describe, in detail, something that seems mundane to the rest of the world, but brings you simple happiness.

This entry was posted in Moxie Monday and tagged , by loriking. Bookmark the permalink.

About loriking

Lori is a writer whose home is full. She has five children, a dog, a turtle, a lizard, five ducks, three chickens, and a husband providing her hours of entertainment, awareness, anxiety and pure joy. They also mess up her house quite a bit. Currently, her diet consists mostly of left over macaroni and cheese and peanut butter sandwiches which she refuses to let go to waste. Lori's favorite pastimes are hiking, swimming, reading and writing which she does with her fellow nerdy friends in a rather quirky, local writers group. You can find their fiction (among other things) here.

One thought on “A Tomato Sandwich – The Perfect Comfort Food

  1. Pingback: Finding Comfort through Food | The Silver Leaf Journal

Leave a Reply

