A Little Bit of Nothing

The post we received from our guest blogger, Margo Loftus, started a conversation in the group about the things that mean a lot to us even though they are small and seemingly insignificant.

I thought that, in the spirit of “Nothing” I would share a small experience I had…

My sister came home. She’s been living in another state for over a year, and has just moved back, she brought with her two beautiful, enchanting girls and one handsome and loving husband.

Her husband and his girls immediately fit into our, somewhat unbalanced family. He was funny, engaging, forgiving and kind and the girls are a reflection of those values.

One day last week, my sister and her family stopped by my house after spending much of their day unpacking. My children played with her children, and chaos reigned (as it usually does at these family get-togethers.)

Maybe not exactly like this.

Maybe not exactly like this.

My readers must understand that I have four children, my home is lived in and comfortable, at no time would Better Homes and Gardens come to ask organization advise from me or take photographs of my home. (Read…her house looks like a landfill.) To add to the mess, my 3 year old has some large flash cards which she loves to play with. To her they are not flash cards, they are confetti, paper airplanes, skis, stepping stones and anything else that involves throwing them all over the floor.

My new Brother – in – Law, after visiting for a few moments assisted my 3 year old in flash cardscollecting her flash cards and putting them back on the book shelf. This is a task I do multiple times a day, and having him take on that small task, was such a relief. It seems like such a simple thing to pick up flash cards, but to a busy mom who does it several times a day, it was a blessing.

So thank you New Brother – in – Law!

Please stay tuned for the rest of the month, we will be discussing our goals and Beltane, but I will try to keep you posted on the great “Nothings” that happen in my life.

This entry was posted in Charity, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , by loriking. Bookmark the permalink.

About loriking

Lori is a writer whose home is full. She has five children, a dog, a turtle, a lizard, five ducks, three chickens, and a husband providing her hours of entertainment, awareness, anxiety and pure joy. They also mess up her house quite a bit. Currently, her diet consists mostly of left over macaroni and cheese and peanut butter sandwiches which she refuses to let go to waste. Lori's favorite pastimes are hiking, swimming, reading and writing which she does with her fellow nerdy friends in a rather quirky, local writers group. You can find their fiction (among other things) here.

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Nothing

    • You’re welcome. Since we had that guest post, I’ve made an attempt to actually SEE things that people do for me and for others. It has changed my outlook quite a bit. I’ve always loved people, but now I see just how amazing they can truly be.

Leave a Reply

