Interview with a Writer: Kira Lyn Blue

Hey guys, it’s Natalie.
You remember how last month we had guest writers? Each and every one of them had something wonderful to share. Well, this month, through my personal blog, I found another one!
Kira Lyn Blue is the author of an up and coming urban fantasy novel entitled Murphy’s First Law! Take it from me, ladies and gentlemen she and her book are fantastic! If you’d rather not take my word for it, head over and check out the first chapteKira imag0031-1editedr on her site. See? It was awesome, wasn’t it?
Without further ado, here is Kira sharing her experiences as a writer, and a little bit about Murphy’s First Law (her book, not the adage.)
 
 
When did you know that you wanted to be a writer?
This tale takes us back to the dark ages of dial-up internet when I was a senior in high school and thought I had my life all planned out. I was going to attend a service academy and become a career military officer. After turning in an essay on The Name of the Rose for a philosophy class, my teacher asked me to stay after class. I remember being mortified. I had agonized over that essay (read: there were tears involved) and I just knew he was going to tell me it sucked. What he said: “You know, if this military thing doesn’t work out for you, you should become a writer.”
  essay-writing
He had loved the essay and I was flabbergasted. That was the best compliment anyone had ever paid me and it stuck with me long past the military thing not working out. (Note: Short, myopic girls with inclinations towards motion sickness do not make good candidates for jet fighter pilots. Who knew?) It took me years to finally act on his advice, though. I’ve always loved to write, but I was never brave enough to actually commit to writing a novel.  I was, and still am, afraid it won’t be good enough. It was finally my wonderfully supportive husband who gave me a kick I needed by being supportive and encouraging me to follow my dream. I also keep the words of my former philosophy teacher in my head as encouragement and a reminder that other people sometimes see us much more clearly than we see ourselves.
Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I have to pick just one? Eeep! I’m going to go with Chuck Palahniuk. It might seem odd since it’s not the genre I typically read and not the one I’ve chosen for my own series, but I think he writes the most amazing opening chapters. That he opened both Fight Club and Invisible Monsters with the end of the story has always impressed me. He shows you the end and still manages not to give anything away, so I devour his books trying to understand how the characters get to the point that he showed in the opening.
I’m also intrigued by how he can make me empathize with characters so flawed I would probably find them despicable in real life. Now that’s good writing. I want to be able to do that!
What is the hardest part of writing for you?
All of it. Ok, not really. I’d say my biggest challenge is not rambling. I’m still learning how to craft scenes using the minimum amount of words that still convey the tone and emotion I want.

What is your book about?
Jacquelyn Montgomery is a Jinx; the living, breathing embodiment of Murphy’s Law. When you’ve accidentally blown up a college chemistry lab, killed your boyfriend and best friend, and attracted the attention of the Justicars who hunt down and kill Jinxes, what do you do? You hide out in in a city no self-respecting sorcereress would deign to set foot in: Indianapolis. You hope the endless miles of cornfields surrounding the city will protect you. News Flash: They won’t.
What inspired you to write your book?
This question popped into my head one day: What if having a magical ability completely sucked? Things just kind of developed from there. The idea is fun for me because I want to see how my character, Jac, can learn to control her life even if she can’t control her magic.
What experiences do you draw from to make your characters so believable?
Hold on, I’m still reeling over the implication of that question. My characters are believable! YAY! Setting the book inbigstock_Indianapolis_Sky_Line_937865 my hometown makes it easier because I can picture the scenes better, so then I just have to focus on actions, behavior, and dialogue. Other than that, I have no idea. It frequently feels like my characters have a mind of their own. Their actions and words just play out in the never ending film running in my mind and somehow it ends up on the page. That said, I do have to go back in and revise using my character notes to make sure each character stays true to the personality I intended for them.
See, what did I tell you folks? She’s awesome! And if you didn’t click on the link above when I told you to… do it now so you can be as hooked as I am!
Thank you Kira for giving us this interview and reaffirming the knowledge that no writer is alone in their crazy! And thank you to our wonderful readers for coming back here again and again to see what kind of lunacy we’re cooking up!
Natalie

About Kira Lyn Blue:

Kira Lyn Blue is an urban fantasy author living in Indianapolis, Indiana with her husband, two furry ninjas with tuna breath, and a deaf Humane Society rescue dog that looks like a cross between David Bowie and Krypto the Superdog. She is currently working on a novel about Jac, the chaos class sorceress or Jinx, tentatively titled Murphy’s First Law.

3 thoughts on “Interview with a Writer: Kira Lyn Blue

  1. I’m in your blog liking your posts! You guys are awesome and I really appreciate you having me on. You also get bonus points for finding such a nice shot of the canal in downtown Indy 🙂

  2. It’s great to meet you Kira, I read the first chapter of your book and I’m hooked! We have similar writing styles, and I also like to write contemporary fiction with just a little bit of magic. I also really like that you selected a specific location for the setting. Welcome to our blog, and hope to see more of you here. Lets stay in touch!

  3. Pingback: Random Updates 4/16/13 | kiralynblue

Leave a Reply

